h1

Foster Care Class

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

I just registered my husband and myself for the foster care class we need to take.  Yay!  Another (baby) step forward.  The class starts in the beginning of February.  Other than that, there hasn’t been too much going on, besides working on the 78-question autobiography questionnaire.  78 questions is a lot of questions!

Earlier this week a pregnant woman I know through work found out the sex of her baby.  I was there for the announcement.  One of those things I’m never going to experience myself.  And I’ve had a couple of situations when I’ve had to be sympathetic toward pregnant women who have missed appointments because of pregnancy-related things.  I keep saying, “Don’t worry about it, I understand.”  And I keep thinking, “I don’t *really* understand, I only wish I did.”  I guess I’ve just been feeling a little sad this week.  I know it’s to be expected, but that doesn’t really make it any easier.

4 comments

  1. Ah! The paper pregnancy! We are foster parents too.


  2. Glad you are taking those steps forward. Every little thing is one closer…

    I think the not relating part is one thing I will continue to struggle with when it comes to pregnancy, biological children, etc. It’s not easy to be in one group when near everyone else is in the other.

    Sending hugs your way and hoping the sadness lifts soon.


  3. You’re right, it is to be expected, but that might just make it harder for women like us. All the pregnancy and baby stuff is just hard. We all wish it would just miraculously get better, that we wouldn’t be phased anymore. Those wishes are unrealistic for some of us, the natural moms who will never get 100% of the mommy experience. But how amazing is it that you will get to mother those whose own moms can’t or never tried. What a beautiful soul you have!


  4. Nope… nothing really makes those feelings easier or go away. We adopted our kids from foster care this last year, and while I’m a Mommy, every pregnant belly is another reminder of something my body failed to do.



Leave a Reply

