h1

What do you have to offer…

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

I hate answering questions like this.  First of all, it’s hard to put this kind of stuff into words.  And second of all, I hate feeling like I’m trying to sell myself.  I get really uncomfortable when I have to talk about my strengths and things I’m good at.

Fost-Adopt Application Question #2: What do you have to offer a child in your home and life?

Answer (so far – I probably won’t include all of this in the application):

I believe I have the ability to offer nurturing and unconditional love to any child who comes into our home and life, even in the midst of the uncertainty that comes with foster care.  Having had three children placed with us in the past year, I know I can give my heart to these kids. One of the things I learned through the grieving of infertility is that I am capable of making it through the pain. Even though I know my heart will be broken if a child who is placed with us leaves our care, I am not afraid of going through the heartache – I know it will not be easy, but I also know I’ll make it through.  Having that knowledge means I can offer love to a child without any hesitation.

This is harder than I thought it would be.  Part of my problem is that I think too much, and I’m a bit of a perfectionist.  I don’t want to just give a generic answer though.

What I/we have to offer a child (in non-answer format): love, nurturing, compassion, empathy, stability, bedtime stories, singing songs, silliness and play, lots of hugs and kisses, the ability to (most of the time) look past the child’s behavior and see the reasons behind it, a good relationship between my husband and I, an understanding of some of the issues foster children face, a willingness to give my heart even though I know the child might leave…

Maybe I should answer more like that, instead of like my first try.  Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

