h1

Why do you wish to adopt…

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Still no news on the job front for my husband.  But I’ve been looking through the foster-adoption application form and I’m starting to think about answers to certain questions.  I thought here would be as good a place as any to try to figure out what I want to say.  So…

Question #1: Why do you wish to adopt or be a foster parent at this time?

Answer (so far):

My husband and I wish to adopt as a way to increase our family.  We have been unable to have children by birth.  After almost three years of trying to get pregnant, we decided in December, 2008, to pursue adoption instead.  It was a very hard decision to make, but it felt like the right choice for us.

We have chosen to adopt from foster care because both of us have experience working with children in foster care.  We have an understanding of the need for loving and supportive foster homes, as well as of some of the difficulties both foster children and foster parents face.  We believe we have the capability to provide that love and support to any child who comes into our home.  Both my husband and I have a strong desire to offer nurturing and compassion to these children in need.

It seems like kind of a cheesy answer – but maybe they want cheese?  It’s hard to put the strong desire I have in my heart to help these kids into words.  I gave my heart to each of the three girls who were placed with us, and I loved every minute of it.  I’m okay with knowing my heart could be broken in an instant – I know I can make it through the pain.

Anyone have any suggestions of things to include, or change, or exclude all together?

Leave a Reply

