h1

Another placement

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

We had another foster child placed with us last Friday.  She’s six, and she stayed with us for a little over a week at the beginning of the summer (as a respite placement).  It’s most likely a short term placement though.  She’s having lots of visits with her mom, and things look like they’re heading toward reunification.  So we’ll see.

As much as I love the girl we have now, and the two girls we had earlier this year, I’m still longing for a baby.  And I’m starting to feel a little hopeless – it seems like it’s never going to happen; not meant to be, or something.  Our new foster girl came with a lot of stuff, so I actually had to take apart the crib we had in her room (we have a cradle in our room still).  I put the crib in storage wondering if I will ever even need to take it out again.  We’ve been licensed since last November, and we still don’t have a baby.  We’re licensed for two though, so we could take a baby if a call comes in, we just need to get the call!

For those of you here from IComLeavWe…  My husband and I started trying to get pregnant in March, 2006.  We started with the RE in March, 2007, and over the course of the next year, learned that he has very low sperm count, and my FSH is high.  In December, 2008, we decided to give up on trying to get pregnant and started to move toward adopting through foster care.  We had our first placement in February of this year (two girls, ages 2 and 5), and they were with us for just under three months before they went to live with family who wanted to adopt them.  Now we’re on placement number two…

4 comments

  1. Hi there, I found your blog on Mel’s list and wanted to introduce myself. I am starting the classes for foster adopt on August 2nd so I’m looking around for people that have done this before. I recently lost my second baby at 21 weeks to a genetic problem and have pretty much given up on fighting with my body for another baby. I want more kids and have always wanted to adopt, so here I am. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your experience, thanks for writing about it.


  2. I hope you manage to get that baby via fostering, I truly do.

    ICLW
    #41
    http://themissruby.blogspot.com/


  3. Hi there. I so admire you for doing foster! Wishing you much success–

    Pixie–
    Cheese Curds and Kimchi


  4. I wish you much success in your fostering.

    An ICLW Visit from #107 (mfi, speedskating, strength)
    liddy @ the unfair struggle



Leave a Reply

