h1

Quick update

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Right now it’s nap/quiet time, and I finally have the house *mostly* put back together, so I have a few minutes to write.

We have two little girls.  Katydid is 5 years old, and CuddleBug is 2.  Both of them are really well behaved, for the most part.  They have a lot of energy though!  I’m worn out physically more than anything else.  My mom came over to watch them for a couple hours on Saturday, and is completely in love.  We went to church on Sunday, and my mom was showing “her grandkids” off to everyone.  My younger brother came over for a while this morning, to help the girls plant a garden.  It makes me feel really good, to have my family be so accepting of them.  The girls already feel like part of the family – just as if they were born into it instead of “placed” into it.

I love finally getting to be a mom.  I’m really happy.  Exhausted, frustrated, and overwhelmed at times, but mostly happy.  And content.

I have this week off from work, so I can figure out daycare for them and help everyone continue to adjust.  I found an all day preschool for Katydid to go to, but I’m still looking for somewhere for CuddleBug.

So far, the hardest part has been bedtime.  I did tons and tons of babysitting in junior high and high school, and these girls are harder to get to sleep than any other kid I’ve taken care of.  They’re in bed by 8 or 8:30, and they don’t actually fall asleep until 10 or 10:30.   Anyone have any brilliant tricks for getting little kids to calm down and go to sleep?

5 comments

  1. Great news! I am so glad you are getting to do “mommy” things. I was a nanny for many years and here are a few tricks that I have learned.

    1) Establish a strict pattern for nighttime. So, start with dinner, then move to baths, then reading, then music, and then bed time. Or whatever your pattern is. If they have that pattern, it helps them feel more secure.

    2) If you can, start indicating that bedtime is approaching in subtle ways (dimming lights, quiet music, or some other ritual that starts winding them down).

    3) Be scheduled in what time you put them into bed. Kids really thrive on having a consistent pattern. Establish rules about how many “drinks” or “books” they are allowed to have.

    4) If you feel comfortable, utilize some subtle aromatherapy to help relaxation. An oil diffuser with some lavender can really help.

    5) For the 5 year old, have her help in small ways getting her sister ready. Small things like helping her brush her teeth or finding pjs.

    Hope those help. Good luck.


  2. Rain gave some really great tips. I have no real world assvice, but have also read/heard that having a routine is key.

    So thrilled to hear how happy you are right now…


  3. I was a foster care case manager for a while and its probably alot of nerves and being in a house where they are actually expected to go to bed at a decent hour. Kids live by consistency and routines so make one and stick to it! 🙂

    ICLW


  4. Wish I had some advice, but I got nada.

    Congrats on the placement. You’re doing a wonderful thing.

    Good luck on your pursuit of adoption!


  5. I have no advice but wish you luck!

    *ICLW



Leave a Reply

