h1

Putting things off

Tuesday, December 29, 2009

One of the things I don’t like about myself is that I tend to procrastinate.  A lot.  I genuinely want to get stuff done, and I want to be on top of everything… but it just doesn’t happen.  Getting myself to go from *wanting* to do something to actually *doing* it is like trying to jump over the Grand Canyon sometimes.  I’m going to blame depression and ADHD, but I’m sure some of it is just me being lazy.

So we’re on hold for getting a baby until mid-January, but that’s only 2-3 weeks away.  There are a ton of things that I really should try to get done before then, because I know they’ll be almost impossible to do after we get a baby.  Paperwork is the biggest thing – I’m really behind on things at work, and I have to get caught up in the next couple weeks.  I know how to do what I need to do, it’s not anything hard, but actually doing it… it’s much easier to put it off then to force myself to do it.  I get to the point where I actually have anxiety about sitting down to work on it – since I have “failed “to be productive SO many times, now  every time I try to get started on things I worry that I’ll just “fail” again.  And that just feeds into the avoidance and procrastination.

I made a “Before baby” list tonight of all the things I would like to get done in the next couple weeks.  Now I just have to get myself to do them.

Anyone want to give me a good kick in the pants to get me moving?

One comment

  1. I am right there with you. My only way to make things happen during times when I don’t fully care if they happen at all is to break down the goals into smaller goals. Instead of “finish all paperwork”, I break it down to days – Monday: “Finish folder 1” or “Finish 10 pages” or even “Work on paperwork for 30 minutes straight.” Allow yourself to stop after each goal is complete. I am okay with doing pretty much anything for 30 minutes. (-;

    They are more realistic goals that I am able to complete and for me crossing something off a list totally inspires me to do more…the next day of course. (-;



Leave a Reply

