h1

routers and references

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Two things in the last few days have made me realize just how much I depend on the internet for social connectedness.

When I got home from work (really late) last Thursday, I discovered that our wireless router had died.  I have no idea *how* it died, but it was definitely non-functional.  Meaning, I had no internet access.  I seriously thought about driving to the 24 hour Starbucks that’s not far from home, just so I could check my email, and Facebook, and Google reader.  But I had already taken my sleeping pill, so I decided driving might not be such a smart idea.  I felt so disconnected from everything.

And then on Sunday, I was trying to start filling out foster care application paperwork.  And one of the forms wants references.  I have no clue who to put for those.  Since getting stuck in this infertility nightmare, I’ve withdrawn from a lot most of my “real life” friends.  Online friends have been my main source of support for the last couple years.

I guess it might be time to try to join the real world a little more.  I’m not sure if I’m ready for that though.

2 comments

  1. Just getting all caught up! First off, congrats on the house and for starting the foster-adopt process. Lots of big and exciting stuff going on in your world! I can only imagine how daunting it all is. As for the references I am not there yet (or might never be), but this same thing has crossed my mind. We have pulled away from so many. Can you find some somewhat “safe” friends to start the process of getting back into “real life”?

    As far as losing online access, I would go insane. It is where I “live”. Glad you are up and running again.


  2. You mean other people have friends that aren’t virtual?



Leave a Reply

