h1

Unexpected side effects

Tuesday, March 18, 2008

Well, maybe not so unexpected, but still a little strange.  I grew up in one of those families that just didn’t talk about sex, how babies are made, and certain body parts.  Anyone who has gone through infertility can tell you that, even if you were embarrassed about that sort of thing to begin with, you quickly lose the discomfort.  It just comes with the territory.  Today I realized just how true that has become for me.

First, I was shopping at Macy’s with a friend.  I was telling her about my high FSH, my husband’s low sperm count, and needing to do IVF.  Hormones, sperm, and fertility treatments.  In the middle of Macy’s.  On my way home I stopped at Safeway to grab some beer for my husband.  I’m trying to figure out what kind to buy when my phone rings.  It turns out to be my RE.  So I have a 10 minute conversation with him while I wander through the alcohol aisle.  In the middle of Safeway.  Talking about my cycles, spotting, having DH do another semen analysis, and about where we go from here. 

When I hung up the phone I couldn’t help smiling at myself because of the huge change.  I seriously tried to avoid looking at the “reproductive anatomy” pictures in my physiology textbook when I took the class in college because I was too embarrassed.  And I couldn’t have said the word “sperm” without blushing.  And here I am now, having conversations about all these things in public places.  Kind of funny.  Definitely strange.  The things infertility can do to a person . . .

2 comments

  1. LOL. I recently used the word “dildocam” at a family function witout even thinking about it… until I realized everyone was STARING at me! Oooops. 🙂


  2. I can relate so well. I used to cringe too at the thought of my annual pap and being embarrassed of anyone looking “down there”. After my lap, hysteroscopy, HSG, and D&C in front of a room of medical students along with an IUI and IVF, I have no reservations about dropping my pants for basically anyone. Best of luck with your plans.



Leave a Reply

