h1

I have a love/hate relationship

Friday, February 22, 2008

With my job.  I truly love what I do (I’m a therapist and right now I’m working with kids/teens).  I like being able to feel like I’m making a difference.  I like being able to support the parents and teach them about whatever problems their kids are having (ADHD, depression, anxiety, etc).  And I love getting to have that deeper conncetion with people on a regular basis.

But the paperwork . . . the paperwork is kicking my butt!  I work for a non-profit agency and all of our services are MediCal funded.  Which means lots of documentation.  LOTS of documentation.  And being a little (maybe more than a little) ADD myself, staying on top of the paperwork and getting myself to stay focused long enough to get it all done is sometimes impossible.  So I have no life.  Because I’m spending all of my time trying to get caught up at work.  I’m tired, I’m very burned out on paperwork, and I really want my life back.  I’m hoping that next month will be better . . .

The other hard part about my job is that occasionally the kids I work with have much younger siblings (i.e. babies) AND most of the people I work with are at a *reproductive* age.  Right now we have two ladies out on maternity leave (both have of course brought their babies into the office for show and tell).  And I’m starting to think that someone else I work with is pregnant (and she already has two little kids!).  It’s horrible having something that everyone else is SO happy and excited about be something that makes me so sad.  I’ve gotten good at hiding out and avoiding.  And my supervisor knows about our IF and has been VERY understanding about how hard it is for me to be around other people’s babies.  So that helps.  But still- one baby in the office and there’s a good chance I won’t get much else done for the rest of the day.  *sigh*

One comment

  1. Ahhh, hun, that sucks. I’m sure it is draining enough just dealing with the kids/families. I’m sorry the paperwork stuff is taking over too. I can’t even imagine having babies paraded around the office. We need visitor passes to allow people to get to past security where we work so the worst we have are the baby pics. Huge ((hugs)).



Leave a Reply

